Separation or Waiting Periods for No Fault Divorce

Many states have put in place laws that require a separation period before a no-fault divorce can be filed and/or granted by the court. These mandatory separation periods are put in place to allow for ample time for reconciliation. Since the belief is that no-fault divorce grounds make it easier for a couple to divorce, a mandatory separation period allows for the possibility for spouses to reconcile and save their marriage before actually initiating or getting though the entire divorce process. There are many people that believe these waiting periods do as much harm as good, because they delay a divorce, which causes many cases, which start out uncontested, to only become heavily contested over time.

STATE Separation or Waiting Periods for No Fault Divorce
Alabama: 1 Month.
Alaska: None.
Arizona: None (unless covenant marriage).
Arkansas: 18 Months.
California: 6 Months post filing date.
Colorado: None.
Connecticut: None.
Dist of Columbia: 6 Months
Delaware: None.
Florida: None.
Georgia: None.
Hawaii: None.
Idaho: None.
Illinois: 2 Years, or 6 months with mutual consent by spouses.
Indiana: None.
Iowa: 3 Months.
Kansas: None.
Kentucky: None.
Louisiana: 6 Months, or 2 Years for a covenant marriage.
Maine: None.
Maryland: 2 years, or 1 year with mutual consent by spouses.
Massachusetts: 7 Months, Only 1 Month with mutual consent by spouses.
Michigan: None.
Minnesota: None.
Mississippi: None.
Missouri: 6 Months.
Montana: 6 Months.
Nebraska: None.
Nevada: None.
New Hampshire: None.
New Jersey: 18 Months, or 6 months with mutual consent by spouses.
New Mexico: None.
New York: 1 Year.
North Carolina: 1 Year.
North Dakota: None.
Ohio: 1 Year, or None with mutual consent by spouses.
Oklahoma: None.
Oregon: None.
Pennsylvania: 2 Years, or 3 months with mutual consent by spouses.
Rhode Island: None.
South Carolina: 1 Year.
South Dakota: None.
Tennessee: None.
Texas: None.
Utah: 3 Months, or None with mutual consent by spouses.
Vermont: 6 Months.
Virginia: 1 Years, or 6 months with mutual consent by agreement with no children.
Washington: 3 Months.
West Virginia: 1 Year, or None with mutual consent by spouses.
Wisconsin: None.
Wyoming: None.


Useful Online Tools
  • Easy Online Divorce - A comprehensive divorce service that will provide you with your completed documents and step-by-step filing procedures to do your own divorce in a timely, professional, and hassle free fashion.
  • Online Separation Agreements - When you and your spouse agree about how to resolve your issues, 3StepAgreementTM puts you in charge, gets everything in writing, and eliminates costly legal fees.
  • Online Divorce Negotiation - You do not have to spend thousands on a lawyer to reach an agreement. You will be surprised how easy it is to resolve your disputes through our innovative Divorce Negotiation CenterTM. It's FREE. Give it a try.

Suggested Reading
The Complete Guide to Divorce The Complete Guide to Divorce
You Must Have this Guide to Have a Successful Divorce! This book supplies the information you'll need to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of your situation, ultimately allowing you to make better decisions before, during and after your divorce.

Download Now


Related Article Archives
Court Procedures
General Divorce Issues
    All Article Archives

Related Categories
Contemplating Divorce
Divorce Laws
Divorce Negotiation
    All Categories
Related Forums
DIY Divorce
General Issues
    All Forums

Resources & Tools

Bookstore Promotion Discount

Start Your Divorce Online Start Your Divorce
Several Options to Get Started Today.
Divorce Tools Online Divorce Tools
Keeping it Simple to Get the Job Done.
Divorce Downloads Download Center
Instantly Download Books, Guides & Forms.
Divorce and Custody Books Discount Books
Over 100 of the Best Divorce & Custody Books.
Negotiate Online Negotiate Online
Settle your Divorce and Save.
Custody and Support Tracking Custody Scheduling
Make Sure You Document Everything.
   
MOVING FORWARD WITH THE ANSWER -- An answer, which is called a response, acknowledges the filing and receipt of the petition or complaint.

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code:

 

Men's Book Men's Rights Manual for Divorce

Men's Rights Manual for Divorce

Men's Rights Manual for Divorce

 

Women's Book Women's Rights Manual for Divorce

Women's Rights Manual for Divorce

Women's Rights Manual for Divorce

 

Featured Download The Limits of Discovery During Divorc

The Limits of Discovery During Divorc

The Limits of Discovery During Divorc

View DIY Divorce Resources in Our Online Bookstore


Limited Offer Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"

Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"