Florida Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Florida Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Florida Products Divorce by County
Do I Lose My Health Insurance in a Florida Divorce?
People going through a Florida divorce frequently ask expert Florida divorce lawyers if they will lose their health insurance if they get divorced.
Usually this situation involves the person who is reliant on the other spouse for health insurance. Typically, the other spouse carried the insurance for the family through work. What happens if you get divorced and no longer qualify for the spousal coverage under the employer's plan.
A federal law called "COBRA" requires that your present insurance company cannot reject you from coverage for three years after the divorce. They are required to give you exactly the same coverage as you have now.
A problem is that the cost of the coverage may be higher because you are no longer getting the family coverage discount which is less per person than if there were just one person on the policy. Additionally, the employer may presently be charging you less than the actual cost as a benefit to the employee. They will no longer do that when you are no longer related to their employee. One small additional increase (less than ten percent) in the premium is a result of the fact that the law allows the insurance company to charge you a premium of slightly higher than the employer is paying.
Bottom Line: Talk to your expert divorce lawyer and your insurance company about the cost of health insurance before you reach a final settlement of your Florida divorce.
(copyright Stann Givens 2009)
All Florida divorcing spouses who have children must complete a Parent Education and Family Stabilization class before a divorce will be granted by the court. This parenting class is mandatory because it helps to minimize the emotional trauma of the divorce on the children. Each parent must independently complete the course before the divorce enters the court. They must provide the court with a certificate of completion to prove the obligation has been met.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
|Your Right to Child Custody, Visitation & Support
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $17.95
You Save: $7.00
"A Plain English Guide to Protecting Your Children"
Author: Mary L. Boland, Attorney at Law
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|