Kansas Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Kansas Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Grandparent Rights Forum Kansas Products Divorce by County
Kansas Divorce Forms
This is a list of the most commonly filed divorce forms for the state of Kansas. Following the list is a brief summary of each form and its purpose. This list of forms is not exhaustive and not all forms listed are required for every divorce. Due to unique case situations and special divorce filing procedures in Kansas, certain forms may or may not be required by the Kansas courts.
Civil Information Sheet
The Civil Information Sheet identifies the parties and the type of action, the attorneys, the children.
Petition for Divorce (without children) or Petition for Divorce (with children)
The Plaintiff files either a Petition for Divorce (Without Children) or Petition for Divorce (With Children), which identifies the parties, states a history of the marriage, their children, if applicable, the grounds and the requested relief.
The Summons puts the Defendant on notice that he or she has 20 days to file an Answer (30 days if he or she is served outside of Kansas) or face a Default Judgment against him or her.
The Parenting Plan, either temporary during divorce negotiations, or permanent, negotiated by the parties as part of the divorce settlement, establishes the terms and conditions of custody and visitation.
Domestic Relations Affidavit
The Domestic Relations Affidavit profiles the domestic situation of the divorcing couple -- their finances, their children, the income and expenses. This Affidavit must be verified and notarized.
Entry of Appearance and Waiver of Service
When the parties agree to the divorce, the Defendant signs an Entry of Appearance and Waiver of Service, by which he or she waives formal service of the divorce papers. This form must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public.
Child Support Worksheet
The Child Support Worksheet establishes child support calculations, which is the support paid by the Noncustodial parent to the Custodial parent.
Notice of Final Hearing
The Petitioner must inform the Defendant of the Notice of Final Hearing. The Notice requires a Certificate of Service, signed by the Petitioner.
Decree of Divorce
The Decree of Divorce, when signed by the judge, ends the marriage.
Certificate of Divorce
The Certificate of Divorce, which is obtained from the court clerk, enters the divorce into the records the divorce for the state’s Vital Statistics.
The judge looks at the following criteria when it comes to dividing assets: the age of the spouses, their future earning capacities, the duration of the marriage, the history of the property, the tax consequences of a forced sale, family ties and obligations, and an allowance for alimony.
|Your Right to Child Custody, Visitation & Support
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $17.95
You Save: $7.00
"A Plain English Guide to Protecting Your Children"
Author: Mary L. Boland, Attorney at Law
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|