Nevada Info

Nevada Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Nevada Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Nevada Products Divorce by County

Nevada Articles

Divorce/General Parenting SEE ALL

Info Categories

Contemplating Divorce Children & Divorce Divorce, Dollars & Debt Divorce Laws Divorce Process Divorce Negotiation SEE ALL

More Information

Articles Checklists Research Center Cases of Interest Dictionary Encyclopedia Encyclopedia (pop-up) Blogs

For Professionals

Advertise With Us Free Network Page Join Our Network Submit Articles Case Management Sign In

Network Sites

Nevada Divorce Support Nevada Divorce Online

Nevada Child Support
Child Support in Nevada

The Nevada child support guidelines are followed unless both parents agree to an amount that's at least equal to that calculated by the guidelines, or the courts decide the guidelines are unjust due to any deviation factors. Temporary and permanent child support may be granted.

Nevada utilizes a percentage of income formula that determines the amount of child support as a percentage of the income of the parent obligated to pay the child support. This percentage is determined by factoring the number of children requiring support. This is the most basic method for calculating support. Some people believe that it does not take into consideration important considerations. This makes this model of support calculation the least exact.

There are official Child Support percentages contained in Nevada Revised Statutes; Chapter 125B, Section 070. 1. As used in this section and NRS 125B.080, gross monthly income means the total amount of income received each month from any source of a person who is not self-employed or the gross income from any source of a self-employed person, after deductions of all legitimate business expenses, but without deduction for personal income taxes, contributions for retirement benefits, contributions to a pension, or for any other personal expenses.

The following percentages of the gross monthly income of the parent paying child support are what the guidelines are generally based on:

  • 1 child - 18 percent;
  • 2 children - 25 percent;
  • 3 children - 29 percent;
  • 4 children - 31percent;
  • and for each additional child, an additional 2 percent of the parent's gross monthly is added, but the total will not exceed more than $500 per child per month.

These guidelines are presumed to be correct unless there is a showing that the needs of the child would not be met under the particular circumstances in a case.

Nevada child support is typically calculated by using a Child Support Worksheet. The worksheet generates an appropriate Nevada child support obligation according to each spouse's income and other factors such as taxes paid and retirement contributions. Deviation factors should be considered. Additional information about Nevada child support can be found in the Nevada state statutes.

Calculate Nevada Child Support

Other Expenses and Deductions

Extraordinary expenses are either add-ons, where the expense is added to the support payment, or deductions, where the amount is deducted, and indicated as either mandatory or permissive. Childcare is a deviation factor, and extraordinary medical expenses are a mandatory deduction.

Generally, parents will include their decision about medical insurance coverage and medical bills in the marital settlement agreement.

Child Support Enforcement

A resident of Nevada may receive child support enforcement from the Department of Health and Human Services, which helps them locate people who have violated child support orders, helps them set up new child support cases, and helps in paternity cases. The Department of Health and Human Services assists in the collection of support through withholding and garnishment.

More information about Nevada Child Support Enforcement can be found at their website.

Emancipation

In Nevada, child support ends at the age of majority, which is 18, or 19 if a child is in high school and expects to graduate by age 19.

Child support is automatically terminated at the age of majority unless otherwise specified in the court order. In cases of mental or physical disability, the court may extend support beyond the age of majority (NRS 125B.110). A child will also automatically be ineligible for child support if that child is removed from disability status by a court order.

Deviation Factors

According to the Nevada Revised Statutes; Chapter 125, Section 230 and Chapter 125B, Section 070, 080, and 090, factors for deviation from the guideline percentages are:

  • the cost of health insurance;
  • the cost of childcare;
  • any special educational needs of the child;
  • the age of the child;
  • the responsibility of the parents for the support of others;
  • the value of services contributed by the parents;
  • any public aid paid to the child;
  • any pregnancy expenses;
  • any visitation travel expenses;
  • the amount of time the child spends with each parent;
  • the relative income of each parent; and
  • any other necessary expenses.

Private school tuition, for instance, is a deviation factor.

Start Nevada Divorce Start Your Nevada Online Divorce Today
Easy, Fast and Affordable with a 100% Guarantee.
Nevada Divorce Find Nevada Divorce Professionals in Your Area:
Join the Network
Nevada Divorce Products, Services and Solutions Nevada Divorce Products, Services and Solutions
Nevada Divorce Resources to Help You Through the Process.
Online Parenting Class Nevada Mandatory Online Parenting Class
Easy and convenient - complete at your own pace online.
Divorce and Custody Books Discount Divorce Bookstore
Over 100 Titles of the Best Books on Divorce & Custody.
Divorce Downloads Divorce Download Center
Instantly Download, Books, Manuals, & Forms.
Divorce Worksheet Free Nevada Divorce Worksheet & Separation Agreement
Your Guide to Get Organized and Put Everything in Writing.
Divorce Lawyers & Mediators
 

Find Professionals

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code:

 

Start Your Divorce File for a Nevada Divorce

 

Settle Your Divorce Negotiate Your Nevada Divorce

 

Support Forum Nevada Support Forum

Children In Between - Online Parenting Class


FEATURED TOOL - How to Stop Your Divorce (Even When You Think its Too Late)

Guarantee Official PayPal Seal Facebook Twitter Versign Secure Site
Limited Offer Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"

Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"