New Jersey Info

New Jersey Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals New Jersey Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum New Jersey Products Divorce by County

New Jersey Articles

Agreements Attorney Relationship Custody & Visitation Child Support Collaborative Law Counseling Divorce/General Domestic Abuse Domestic Partnership Financial Planning Foreign Divorce Mediation Parenting Property Division Spousal Support SEE ALL

Info Categories

Contemplating Divorce Children & Divorce Divorce, Dollars & Debt Divorce Laws Divorce Process Divorce Negotiation SEE ALL

More Information

Articles Checklists Research Center Cases of Interest Dictionary Encyclopedia Encyclopedia (pop-up) Blogs

For Professionals

Advertise With Us Free Network Page Join Our Network Submit Articles Case Management Sign In

Network Sites

New Jersey Divorce Support New Jersey Divorce Online

2014 Changes to New Jersey Alimony Laws

As of early September 2014 the New Jersey Alimony Laws have changed significantly. While many people are happy to see the old laws being updated, others don’t think the alimony reform goes far enough.

So what’s it all about? What has changed?

First of all, nothing changes for court-ordered alimony payments put in place in the past. The terms of existing alimony orders are grandfathered in and are unaffected by the recent law changes. The law applies only to future divorces establishing alimony payments.

But there are several very significant changes to keep in mind if you are contemplating a divorce in New Jersey that will provide for alimony payments:

  • There is now a “rebuttable presumption” that alimony payments can come to an end when the person who is making the payments reaches “full retirement age,” presently 67 years old;
  • A judge has the discretion to end alimony payments when a divorced alimony recipient is living with a partner, whether or not they marry;
  • A judge has the discretion to lower alimony payments if the divorced person making the payments has been out of work for 90 days or more;
  • The term of alimony payments cannot exceed the number of years the couple was legally married, for marriages lasting less than 20 years.

The theme of recent reform in the New Jersey alimony law all points toward one primary, overarching change – alimony is no longer a permanent right or responsibility. It is presumed to be durational instead of permanent.

Critics of the new law don’t believe it went far enough to end perceived inequities on the part of those paying alimony, usually men. And alimony recipients, usually women, decry the changes that mean women may lose the benefit of monthly alimony payments as they are aging and becoming more vulnerable financially.

Naturally, people who are presently making alimony payments with no end in sight, even when their ex-spouse remarries, or are in the midst of their own financial setbacks are not pleased that the 2014 alimony reform does not apply to their pre-existing obligations.

A New Jersey family lawyer can help you sort out the alimony reform laws and how they apply to your present circumstances, whether you are contemplating a divorce now or you are already divorced.


Was this helpful? Like our site & let us know.

Related Articles


Start New Jersey Divorce Start Your New Jersey Online Divorce Today
Easy, Fast and Affordable with a 100% Guarantee.
New Jersey Divorce Find New Jersey Divorce Professionals in Your Area:
Join the Network
New Jersey Divorce Products, Services and Solutions New Jersey Divorce Products, Services and Solutions
New Jersey Divorce Resources to Help You Through the Process.
Online Parenting Class New Jersey Mandatory Online Parenting Class
Easy and convenient - complete at your own pace online.
Divorce and Custody Books Discount Divorce Bookstore
Over 100 Titles of the Best Books on Divorce & Custody.
Divorce Downloads Divorce Download Center
Instantly Download, Books, Manuals, & Forms.
Divorce Worksheet Free New Jersey Divorce Worksheet & Separation Agreement
Your Guide to Get Organized and Put Everything in Writing.
   
If the divorce is being filed under one of the seven fault grounds (including extreme cruelty, adultery, abandonment, substance or alcohol addiction, institutionalization, deviant sexual conduct and incarceration), the 18 month separation period, required for a no-fault divorce, is waived. However, each ground for divorce has its own stipulations.
Divorce Lawyers & Mediators
 

Find Professionals

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code:

 

Start Your Divorce File for a New Jersey Divorce

 

Settle Your Divorce Negotiate Your New Jersey Divorce

 

Support Forum New Jersey Support Forum

Children In Between - Online Parenting Class


FEATURED TOOL - Positive Parenting Through Divorce (Complete Your Mandatory Parenting Class Online)

Guarantee Official PayPal Seal Facebook Twitter Versign Secure Site
Limited Offer Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"

Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"