New Jersey Info
New Jersey Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals New Jersey Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum New Jersey Products Divorce by County
New Jersey Articles
Agreements Attorney Relationship Custody & Visitation Child Support Collaborative Law Counseling Divorce/General Domestic Abuse Domestic Partnership Financial Planning Foreign Divorce Mediation Parenting Property Division Spousal Support
Six Steps to Getting Divorced in New Jersey After Mediation
You have gone through the mediation process, and now have a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). In this article, I have provided information regarding the next steps in the divorce process, after mediation.
Legal Services of New Jersey (LSNJ) has published a book entitled A Self-Help Guide to Divorce in New Jersey. Information from this book is posted on the web at http://www.lsnjlaw.org/english/family/divorceNJ.cfm. I have used the LSNJ book as a reference in writing this article. I thank the contributors Deborah Fennelly, Nancy Goldhill, Donna Hildreth, and Mary McManus, for their work on this excellent resource. I also thank Cherie A. Hiller-Moss, Esq., and Gale A. Wachs, Esq., APM, for their guidance in writing this article.
This article does not take the place of legal advice, and I recommend that each party to the divorce consult with their own attorney for guidance during the mediation and divorce process.
Step 1: Getting the MOU Reviewed by Your Separate Attorneys
The first step in the process is to have your MOU reviewed by your separate attorneys. In my experience, most questions that arise in the attorney review process can be addressed over the phone. In some situations, you might return to mediation to address points raised by your attorneys.
Step 2: Filing the Divorce Complaint
If the divorce complaint has not already been filed, the Plaintiff’s attorney will file the complaint. It is important to remember that under most circumstances, the grounds for divorce are not important to your property and custody settlement. The complaint is usually filed in the county where you lived at the time that your cause of action for divorce arose. The complaint is the document that begins your case and presents your situation to the court.
The complaint also contains what you are asking the court to order. This is called “legal relief.” For example, you can ask the court to grant alimony and/or child support, divide property, divide debts, allow you to change your name, order custody or parenting time, etc. You do not need to specify the details in the complaint; you will do that when you prepare the Property Settlement Agreement.
The Court charges a filing fee, when you file the complaint. The current filing fee for a divorce complaint is $250, plus an additional $25 for the Court’s Parents’ Education Program, if applicable. Once the complaint is filed, the court will send you a copy of your complaint with a docket number, and your attorney will send a copy to your spouse or his/her attorney.
Step 3: Receiving and Processing the Divorce Complaint
The person in the divorce who is the Defendant has 35 days to respond to the Divorce Complaint. The quickest way to move your divorce along is to send back a signed and notarized acknowledgment of service as soon as you receive the complaint. After the Plaintiff and/or his/her attorney receives the signed and notarized Acknowledgment of Service form back from the Defendant’s attorney, they must file it with the court.
Step 4: Preparing the Property Settlement Agreement (PSA)
If you were not mediating, you would now be preparing for a Case Management Conference with the court to decide what documents need to be exchanged for discovery, etc.. However, since you have already provided disclosure of financial information in mediation, and have also agreed upon the important issues for your divorce, either the attorney for the Plaintiff or the Defendant will now prepare a Property Settlement Agreement based on the Memorandum of Understanding. The PSA will incorporate information from the MOU regarding custody and parenting time, alimony, equitable distribution of assets, etc. Because both parties have signed the PSA, the Court sees that this is an uncontested divorce, and usually fast tracks the divorce.
Step 5: Attending the Divorce Hearing
A few counties in New Jersey grant divorces without a hearing. However, in most counties in New Jersey, the Plaintiff and his/her attorney are required to appear at the Final Hearing. The Defendant may or may not be required to appear at the Final Hearing. Whether the Defendant needs to appear will largely depend on his/her attorney's response to the Divorce Complaint. At the Final Hearing, the Plaintiff's attorney will ask questions of the Plaintiff regarding the parties' marriage, the cause of action, and the terms of the Property Settlement. The judge presiding over the case may also ask a few questions to clarify the same.
Step 6: Receiving the Final Judgment of Divorce with the Gold Seal
During the Final Hearing, one of the parties' attorneys will present the Court with a document called the Final Judgment of Divorce. This document is merely the order that the judge signs, stating that the parties are legally divorced, and that they signed a Property Settlement Agreement which they intend to abide by. Usually, the judge signs the Final Judgment of Divorce at the hearing and you leave the Court with the signed document that very day. Occasionally, the Judgment of Divorce is submitted after the Final Hearing or the judge signs the Judgment at a later date. In either case, the signed Judgment will be sent to your attorney and you will soon receive a certified copy of the Final Judgment of Divorce, with a gold seal, indicating that your divorce is final. You are now free to remarry!
New Jersey has five types of spousal support. Rehabilitative alimony is a short-term monetary award that allows a spouse to go back to school or obtain training to re-enter the workforce. Limited duration alimony is awarded in cases of a short marriage when rehabilitative alimony doesn't apply. Reimbursement alimony is awarded when one spouse makes a personal sacrifice so that the other spouse could receive professional or career training. Alimony pendente lite is awarded when a divorce is pending so that both parties can maintain their current standard of living until a final judgment is made. Finally, there is permanent alimony which is usually appropriate in long term marriages and typically terminates upon the death of either party or remarriage.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
|Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00
"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"
|Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00
"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|