North Carolina Info
North Carolina Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals North Carolina Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Grandparent Rights Forum North Carolina Products Divorce by County
One woman is beaten by her husband or partner every 15 seconds in the United States. This staggering statistic has not gone unnoticed by the North Carolina legislature and thus our courts have developed a mechanism for helping women who may be suffering from domestic violence.
If you and/or your children have suffered acts of domestic violence, you may be eligible to get a Domestic Violence Protective Order against the abuser in accordance with Chapter 50B of the North Carolina General Statues (also called a DVPO or a 50B or a restraining order).
Call the police, if necessary, and when you are safe, contact the domestic violence relief agency in your county. They will give you advice and, if necessary, direct you to a safe shelter.
Navigate: Home States North Carolina Divorce Source North Carolina Divorce Articles, News and Resources Domestic Abuse
Either spouse must have been a resident of North Carolina for at least six months before the filing of the complaint. The action is in the county where either party resides.
|Your Right to Child Custody, Visitation & Support
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $17.95
You Save: $7.00
"A Plain English Guide to Protecting Your Children"
Author: Mary L. Boland, Attorney at Law
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|