Rhode Island Info
Rhode Island Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Rhode Island Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Grandparent Rights Forum Rhode Island Products Divorce by County
Rhode Island Articles
How is Rhode Island (RI) Child Support determined in divorce cases, paternity cases, and child visitation cases? In most cases, it is set by the" Rhode Island Family Court Child Support Formula and Guidelines. In the vast majority of cases in Rhode Island, the minimum Rhode Island Child Support Guideline amount is used.
Child support may be modified after one of three circumstances occur. In Rhode Island, child support is based on the parties income and available resources support and that information, along with some other factors such as daycare costs, medical insurance costs, or the number of other minor children a party is responsible for, is what is plugged into the "guidelines" to calculate child support.
If a person violates a Rhode Island Family Court order by not paying child support, the parent with physical custody may file a motion to hold that person in contempt for failure to pay child support. A person accused of not paying child support has a right to a hearing.
How is Child support modified in Rhode Island divorce and family law cases? Child support in Rhode Island is not automatically modified when there is a change in circumstances. The parent must file a motion to modify child support. When a motion for modification of child support is filed a court date will be set by the clerk of the Rhode Island Family Court. In order to modify child support there must be a substantial change in circumstances.
How is Rhode Island Child Support determined in divorce cases, paternity cases, child support cases and child visitation cases? In most cases, child support is determined by the "Rhode Island Family Court Child Support Formula and Guidelines". In the vast majority of child support cases in Rhode Island, the minimum Rhode Island child support guideline amount is used to determine child support.
In Rhode Island (RI) Divorce and Child support cases, Can I get the father or mother of my child to be ordered to pay for private school education? No, unless there is a contractual obligation, a stipulated consent order or there is an ongoing divorce.
In Rhode Island child support does not automatically terminate when a child reaches 18 years old! Termination of a child support order is not automatic in Rhode Island! A child support order / obligation will only terminate if a motion to terminate child support is granted by a Judge of The Rhode Island Family Court.
The Rhode Island minimum child support guidelines take into account both the importance and expense of daycare. The child support guidelines and worksheet are used to determine the proper amount of child support to be paid by the non-possessory parent.
Rhode Island state law requires a 60-day waiting period after the couple has filed a petition, but the court reserves the right to hear cases sooner should it be deemed appropriate. During the 60 days, the court has the discretion to investigate claims and order counseling.
|Your Right to Child Custody, Visitation & Support
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $17.95
You Save: $7.00
"A Plain English Guide to Protecting Your Children"
Author: Mary L. Boland, Attorney at Law
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|