Tennessee Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Tennessee Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Grandparent Rights Forum Tennessee Products Divorce by County
5 Hidden Costs of Keeping the House After Divorce
1. House appraisal minus mortgage balance does not equal equity to be divided between spouses
If you will keep the house, have a home inspection prior to signing the divorce papers to determine if expensive repairs are necessary. Did you remember to subtract the projected expenses needed to get the house ready to put on the market or closing costs from the value you assign the house?
2. Under-estimating monthly expenses
Does your monthly budget include the cost to have the exterior of the house painted every 5 years, the deductible for your homeowner’s insurance, or the expense to remove a fallen tree? A complete should have 124 items.
3. Not budgeting for the unexpected
Include a contingency in your monthly budget for those unexpected bills. Have you considered getting a home warranty to cover large expenses? The most expensive and frequent house repairs include: HVAC, Plumbing leaks, Water heaters, Foundation issues, Termite damage, Roof repairs, Replacement of appliances.
4. Not performing a timely title search
Has your ex-spouse borrowed against the Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) while you were going through the divorce process?
5. Unpaid property taxes
Have property taxes been paid for the current year? If you keep the house and don’t address this issue before the divorce papers are signed, you could get stuck paying for the whole year of taxes. Is that in your budget?
Divorce is the 4th most frequent reason cited for bankruptcy in this country and Tennessee has more bankruptcies than any other state. Tennessee is also near the top in the nation for foreclosure rates. Don’t become a statistic. Understand the numbers before you sign your divorce papers. Secure your future and your children’s future.
The plaintiff must be a resident of Tennessee in order to file for a divorce there. If the grounds for divorce occurred outside of the state, either of the parties must have resided in the state for six months before filing. Military personnel must be a resident of the state for at least one year prior to filing. The petition must be filed in the chancery or circuit court in the county where the parties reside at the time of their separation, or in either the county where the defendant resides, or where the applicant resides.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
|Your Right to Child Custody, Visitation & Support
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $17.95
You Save: $7.00
"A Plain English Guide to Protecting Your Children"
Author: Mary L. Boland, Attorney at Law
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|