Tennessee Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Tennessee Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Tennessee Products Divorce by County
Tennessee Child Custody
Child Custody in Tennessee
According to Tennessee Code - Title 36, Sections 36-6-106, based on the best interest of the child, the court may award custody to either parent or to both parents for joint custody or shared parenting.
As in most states, Tennessee law requires that the court consider the best interest of a child in deciding custody.
Custody can be either joint or sole. Either parent may be awarded sole custody, which means that that parent has legal and physical custody of the child. Parents can be awarded joint conservatorship, which means one parent holds legal custody of the child and both hold shared physical possession of the child. The court may also award joint legal and physical conservatorship, which permits each parent to share physical custody of the child and have equal say in the child's upbringing.
In Tennessee the custodial parent who does not involve himself or herself in the child's development risks losing custody to a parent prepared to make those sacrifices.
Tennessee courts look unfavorably on constant and frequent moves. The behavior and actions of all individuals who share the child's home, including live-in romantic interests of the custodial parent, is also subject to scrutiny. When the court finds an unhealthy environment or exposure to inappropriate influences in the residential neighborhood and the school district, it removes the child.
Custody is contingent on several factors. In Tennessee the courts considers:
A custody hearing will be held if the parents are unable to come to a fair, agreement about custody.
The court has discretion to take into consideration the interests of the child even if the child is younger, but the court must weigh the other evidence presented to see what is genuinely best for the child.
A custody order can be temporarily modified when the custodial parent is called for active military duty. The original custody arrangement is reinstated after the deployment.
Mandatory Parenting Class
Tennessee courts require all divorcing parents with minor children to complete a mandatory parenting class before granting a divorce. This requirement is designed to help parents and children deal with the trauma of divorce and separation. Unless the court grants a waiver, both parents must complete this requirement. Rather than give up an afternoon or evening taking your course in a crowded classroom, you can fulfill this requirement conveniently online at a very reasonable cost. We recommend you take Children in Between Online" to fulfill your court requirement and for the benefit of your children.
Relocation and Child Custody in Tennessee
A parent who plans to move more than 100 miles must serve a notice to the child's other parent 60 days prior to the move. The notice includes a statement of the intent to move, the address of the new location, the reasons for the relocation and a statement that the child's other parent may oppose the move within 30 days.
In considering the move, the court weighs:
Preferential Treatment Towards Mothers
In Tennessee, either parent has an equal right to custody of the child. Until 1997, Tennessee considered the gender of the parent when awarding physical possession of a child 7 years of age and under. The preference, called the "Tender Years Doctrine," is no longer in effect, and the court no longer considers the gender of a parent in determining custody rights.
Joint Custody Preference
Joint custody can be assigned in many forms and depends on the facts of the case. Joint custody is increasingly common in cases where the parties will continue to reside in the same vicinity. Parents who can reach an accord about custody on their own should present it to the court. Tennessee law expresses a preference for parents to share as equally as practically possible in the custody of a child in a divorce case.
The courts also consider the conduct of both parents during the course of the marriage, and the impact of parental behavior on the child.
In determining custody, the court considers any history of domestic violence in the family. An abusive parent is not likely to be granted custody. In fact, the abusive parent may have visitation restricted. Depending on the facts of the case, supervised visitation may be ordered. The court's job is to provide for the safety of children.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
|Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00
"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"
|Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00
"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"
© 1996 - 2018 Divorce Source, Inc. All Rights Reserved.