Texas Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Texas Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Grandparent Rights Forum Texas Products Divorce by County
The Texas State Legislature has established guidelines for child support. Those guidelines are found in chapter 154 of the Texas Family Code. The guidelines are presumed to be "reasonable", and an order of support conforming to those guidelines is presumed to be "in the best interest of the child."
One spouse must have lived in Texas for at least six months before filing and must live in the county for 90 days in which the divorce will be filed. If a spouse resides outside the state, he or she may file the Texas county in which his or her spouse resides. Meeting the residency requirement in Texas is required in order for the court to have jurisdiction over the case.
|Your Right to Child Custody, Visitation & Support
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $17.95
You Save: $7.00
"A Plain English Guide to Protecting Your Children"
Author: Mary L. Boland, Attorney at Law
|The information contained on this page is not to be considered legal advice. This website is not a substitute for a lawyer and a lawyer should always be consulted in regards to any legal matters. Divorce Source, Inc. is also not a referral service and does not endorse or recommend any third party individuals, companies, and/or services. Divorce Source, Inc. has made no judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating professionals. Read our Terms & Conditions.|