Utah Info

Utah Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Utah Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Utah Products Divorce by County

Utah Articles

Divorce/General SEE ALL

Info Categories

Contemplating Divorce Children & Divorce Divorce, Dollars & Debt Divorce Laws Divorce Process Divorce Negotiation SEE ALL

More Information

Articles Checklists Research Center Cases of Interest Dictionary Encyclopedia Encyclopedia (pop-up) Blogs

For Professionals

Advertise With Us Free Network Page Join Our Network Submit Articles Case Management Sign In

Network Sites

Utah Divorce Support Utah Divorce Online

Utah Divorce Mediation, Counseling and Parenting Classes
Utah Divorce Mediation:

In Utah, when a divorce is contested—that is, when one spouse objects to the proposed terms and conditions of a divorce regarding alimony, child custody arrangements, visitation, and support and division of assets and liabilities – the couple must submit to at least one session of divorce mediation. Unless otherwise directed by the court or agreed to by the couples, the spouses share the cost of the mediator. If they cannot afford it, the couple may file a Divorce Mediation Program Income Survey stating they cannot afford mediation. If approved, the court appoints a specialist who works without charge.

The couples are encouraged to resolve their differences rather than rely on the court. For couples that cannot come to an agreement, it is possible to file for a waiver requesting that divorce mediation be eliminated. [Utah Code Annotated; 30-3-4, 30-3-11.5, 30-3-16.2, and 30-3-18].

Utah Marriage Counseling:

If either or both spouses file a petition for conciliation with the court during the 90-day waiting period after initiating the divorce, the court may refer both spouses to a domestic relations counselor.

Utah Parenting Class:

If the spouses have children, they must attend a course on the affects of divorce on children (although this may be waived by order of the court). The court does not issue a decree until both parties complete the course requirements and return a certificate of course completion to the court. The petitioner should complete the courses as soon as possible but no later than 60 days after filing; the respondent, no later than 30 days after being served.

Start Utah Divorce Start Your Utah Online Divorce Today
Easy, Fast and Affordable with a 100% Guarantee.
Utah Divorce Find Utah Divorce Professionals in Your Area:
Join the Network
Utah Divorce Products, Services and Solutions Utah Divorce Products, Services and Solutions
Utah Divorce Resources to Help You Through the Process.
Online Parenting Class Utah Mandatory Online Parenting Class
Easy and convenient - complete at your own pace online.
Divorce and Custody Books Discount Divorce Bookstore
Over 100 Titles of the Best Books on Divorce & Custody.
Divorce Downloads Divorce Download Center
Instantly Download, Books, Manuals, & Forms.
Divorce Worksheet Free Utah Divorce Worksheet & Separation Agreement
Your Guide to Get Organized and Put Everything in Writing.
Divorce Lawyers & Mediators
 

Find Professionals

Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Enter Your Zip Code:

 

Start Your Divorce File for a Utah Divorce

 

Settle Your Divorce Negotiate Your Utah Divorce

 

Support Forum Utah Support Forum

Children In Between - Online Parenting Class


FEATURED TOOL - QdroDeskTM (Divide Your Retirement Account Online)

Guarantee Official PayPal Seal Facebook Twitter Versign Secure Site
Limited Offer Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"

Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $55.95
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00

"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"