Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

Divorce Source Community Forums >> Saving Your Marriage

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
ske
recently joined

Reged: 12/06/08
vascillating
      #482704 - 12/06/08 08:26 PM

Hi, I'm new here. I have been contemplating divorce for several months. My husband is a functional alcoholic and MJ user. I can't stand either. He said he would stop the drugs but hasn't. He won't discuss it and becomes mean and degradig if I bring it up. I realize that he can do as he pleases but I don't like being married to someone who is intoxicated everyday. When he's high, he tries to have sex but I can't stand him touching me. Is there a way to stay married without totaly compromising myself? Part of me feels that I am being too selfish. The other part feels that I am being a door mat. Any suggestions?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
THandSofFP

Reged: 08/17/07
Re: vascillating [Re: ske]
      #482708 - 12/06/08 08:35 PM

Yes, I have a suggestion(s).

Since he is sick, you should keep to your SACRED vows: ...in sickness as in health...

If he is not cheating on you or beating you up, Biblically, you have no grounds for divorce.

Perhaps you need to attend AA for families.

Perhaps you need to get a grasp on reality.

Perhaps you need to look at what you did to cause this. Did you promise something before marriage that you are not doing during the marriage?

Are you forsaking others? In other words, are you making him the focus of your life after God and this includes the children?

YOU chose this person to be your husband and to Father your children.

Just because you are unhappy currently, all the studies show that if you are doing everything possible to support him and your lifestyle, you will be happy again within 5 years or less.

Don't let 1 or 2 years of unhappiness destroy all that you have built.

Be kind, don't rewind, do what is right per your sacred vows and eventually, all will be copesetic.