Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

State Specific Community Forums >> California Issues

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Bestestbuddy
recently joined

Reged: 01/05/09
SS expectation input or guidance requested
      #491548 - 01/05/09 04:01 PM

I make $210K + bonus (no bonus this year), she makes $60K teaching for 9/12 months.
We have split property in half. I gave her $450K cash for the house, she exercised $970K of my stock options..used most of the money to buy a house in SF for $1.3M.
I came into the marriage with a BS degree and an MS degree. She came into the marriage with a high school education (and 3 kids). I put her through 14 years of schooling. She now has a BA, a masters and a doctorate.
She still has another $100K of stock and stock options that she can access. I've been paying her about $62K in temporary support for 2 years while waiting to get the divorce done (I was the petitioner). I figured it would help her transition. We were married for 21 years. I have a mandatory settlement conference this month and a trial scheduled for next month. I've split everything down the middle and the only thing I am fighting is excessive SS (I consider $62K/year excessive). She is on the tenure track at a University here.
I think there needs to be consideration for the years I contributed to her education (and watched the kids and stayed the sole provider of the family), she should be working 12 months a year, not 9, and there needs to be some consideration of her separate assets here. I am 59, she is 56. She's been working for 4 years.
I would like to retire someday, but this situation has definitely changed my finances.

Any guidance or input? Thanks.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Pages: 1

Extra information
0 registered and 3 anonymous users are browsing this forum.

Moderator:  dsAdmin 

Print Topic

Forum Permissions
      You cannot start new topics
      You cannot reply to topics
      HTML is disabled