Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

Divorce Source Community Forums >> Military Divorce

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
USAF_Engineer
recently joined

Reged: 12/28/10
Overseas Military Divorce
      #718525 - 12/28/10 06:48 AM

I'm stationed in Italy, and am considering divorce from my wife of 20+ years. No specific reason, just grown apart long ago and there's really nothing left. So I think it will be uncontested, though I'm not 100% sure of that. I want to know some details of what we will need to do so I can lay it out for her (after the shouting). Bottom line question is how would we start?

We were married in CA, I am a resident of CO (never changed my residency since I lived there) and she is resident in ND (she had to change it when we lived there). Neither of us plans to go back to any of those places. In fact, I don't plan to go back to the States any time soon; I like being stationed overseas. I assume once I broach the subject with her she will move back to the States, probably to WA where her mom lives. So now we have 4 different states in the mix. Any thoughts on how to start?

Just for a complete picture, we have 1 child in high school, who will need to finish the school year here (a potentially messy short-term issue). I am only 14 years into my military career, so not yet worried about retirement pay. Unfortunately my wife hasn't worked for years. In the past when the subject has come up she has said "You wouldn't need to support me," but I would certainly not just cut her off. So I'll have to consider how to best work within the military pay system to help her get her feet on the ground. And as a final complicating issue, I will be getting a new assignment next summer (2011). Which means either we start the process soon, or I delay it until we complete the move?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Miranda
Carpal \'Tunnel

Reged: 06/02/05
Loc: North of Mexico