Other Parent Playing Games

Posted by: RCMomma

Other Parent Playing Games - 11/08/17 12:50 AM

Hi all, I'm new to this forum, and looking for sound advice on managing my co-parenting relationship.

Background info: I was previously in a marriage of 9.5 years + separation of 1 yr, with divorce finalized last February. I have three girls ages 11, 8 and 3 and share custody with their dad 1/2 time (switching back and forth 2-3 times throughout the week).

On to the issue. The girls' dad has issues (I'm not a doctor but after researching I seriously believe him to be a functioning narcissist -- aside from being quite selfish). The problem is regarding dropping our youngest off at school when she's sick. His choice for custody drop off (for all the girls) is that they go to school when they're sick if the school can't tell. Our youngest has had significant health issues up until now (she gets bronchitis at the drop of a dime, and has had pneumonia 5 times in her life). He will insist that she go to preschool even when I give him the report that she was very sick the day before and should probably stay home. I've had at least two instances where the school has refused to take her and I had to wait an hour (thus affecting my my work hours) for him to organize someone to pick her up. The other times the school would receive her because their school policy is refusal only if the child has had a fever, vomiting or diarrhea and does not consider pneumonia. On the days she has bronchitis/pneumonia I would keep her home if she were under my care because she requires a lot of care to make sure her airways stay clear. Dad seems to be more concerned about taking too many days off of work (he had voiced this opinion when we were married and I was always the one to stay home from work when the girls were sick).