Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

Topic Options
#772153 - 07/20/16 06:09 PM Doomed from the start/new man has huge alimony
an_old_friend Offline

recently joined

I have been divorced many years and I'm a professional self-supporting woman with a prestigious job/career. I started dating my dear old friend who divorced 2 years ago. His fat lazy ex-wife promised to go back to work after kids in school and she never did. He is totally at fault for never insisting she do so. So he ended up with a large alimony payment for 10 more years until her fatness is 65 years old. Then he lost his job and is trying (unsuccessfully so far) to reduce alimony a lot. They keep awarding her continued money despite the fact he is basically poverty stricken, lives on foodstamps and lives in a crummy little condo. He stopped paying her bcs he really has NO money left. (She will have her high-priced lawyer file contempt motion soon - he can't afford a lawyer.) It is so sad. He is so nice but I have to pay whenever we go out so we never do. I am 54 and want to start living life and traveling and I'd even be open to marrying again, but this money thing is becoming a deal-breaker. We have been together for 2 years and I'd hate to see it end, but should I end it now bcs I see no end in sight for his alimony? He doesn't even want to get a new job bcs she will always get over half his income for doing NOTHING but breathing. That kills him and now it's killing me too. What to do?

#772154 - 07/23/16 12:49 PM Re: Doomed from the start/new man has huge alimony [Re: an_old_friend]
Annie7676 Offline
old hand

Loc: NY
You have answered your own question, this money thing is a deal breaker. If you don't like his situation which does not appear it will change, then move on. So go live your life and travel and find someone you don't need to pay for.

#772155 - 07/25/16 12:30 PM Re: Doomed from the start/new man has huge alimony [Re: Annie7676]
mskelly Offline

journeyman