Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

Topic Options
#1995 - 08/27/04 06:43 PM Please tell me this gets better...
purplehaze Offline
recently joined

I am new to all this. Divorce was completely unexpected. We've been together 3 years and only married 5 weeks. Unfortunately, my "husband" is a criminal who lead a whole nother life I didn't know about and he will be going away for a long time (prison).
We have just started the divorce proceedings and I don't expect them to be contested seeing as he is under house arrest.

I am sad and lonely and really at a loss for what to do with myself. I just am looking for a little support. I never dreamed that when I said "I DO" last month it would end this way or this soon.

#1996 - 08/28/04 05:55 PM Re: Please tell me this gets better... [Re: purplehaze]
Gecko Offline
Carpal \'Tunnel

Loc: Third rock from the sun
You shouldn't be filing for divorce. An annulment is more appropriate.

I don't understand, how can you be with someone for three years and not know they have a [current] criminal history?

#1997 - 08/28/04 07:32 PM Re: Please tell me this gets better... [Re: Gecko]
purplehaze Offline
recently joined

I never would have married him had I known. He did a bang up job keeping it all a secret...he had us all snowed.
My attorney is looking into anullment as an option.

#1998 - 08/28/04 09:46 PM Re: Please tell me this gets better... [Re: purplehaze]
Grace Offline
addict

Loc: KY
It is hard to imagine that someone could "hide" who they are for 3 years. . .but then again, I married a guy that was completely different from the guy I dated for 3 years. He wasn't a criminal, at least not seriously (is poaching deer serious? :), but he hid his dark side very well.
Look at it this way, be thankful that you are able to avoid a very heart-wrenching future with a criminal. If you don't have children together, be EXTREMELY thankful.
I know the shock is a bit to deal with, but it WILL get better.