Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

Topic Options
#774038 - 11/03/17 11:48 PM back child support question
jaybird Offline
recently joined

i have been paying child support for 7 years, in that time i have been layed off about 3 times missed some payments and went back to paying when i was working again. i was just layed off about 6 months back, missed some payments, went back to work 2 weeks ago and just started back with the payments. i got a letter saying i owe 16,000 in back childsupport and had 30 days to pay it. i dont understand how i can owe that much, it would be like 5 or 6 years of no payments, i have never missed that many. i know they add fees and interest but can they actually double the amount. i dont come close to making that kind of money and cant pay that. im scared and dont want to go to jail for not being able to pay so much money. what can they do? im working and making payments now.
i have never refused payments, i have only missed payments due to being out of work.
i live in arkansas.
thank you for the help

#774040 - 11/04/17 02:54 AM Re: back child support question [Re: jaybird]
matilda Offline
Pooh-Bah

I would contact them and ask for an account so that you can verify that the payments you made were credited to your account. I would also start digging out all of your proof of payment items such as canceled checks. I would also look into the possibility of modifying your CS if you are laid off again in the future.

#774041 - 11/04/17 03:14 AM Re: back child support question [Re: matilda]
jaybird Offline
recently joined

[quote=matilda]I would contact them and ask for an account so that you can verify that the payments you made were credited to your account. I would also start digging out all of your proof of payment items such as canceled checks. I would also look into the possibility of modifying your CS if you are laid off again in the future. [/quote]