Start Your Divorce
Divorce by County
Custody & Visitation
Children & Divorce
Divorce, Dollars & Debt
Cases of Interest
Advertise With Us
Free Network Page
Join Our Network
Connecticut Divorce Support
Connecticut Divorce Online
Connecticut Divorce Facts
When going through a divorce in in Connecticut, it's helpful to have some key information. Below you will find some of the most important facts everyone getting a divorce in the state of Connecticut should know. The facts listed here are only a selected few of the more comprehensive set of Connecticut Divorce Laws available for your reference. Remember, every state's law is different, and if you're not sure about a law in your state, you should ask a qualified Connecticut Divorce Professional.
One of the spouses must be a resident for at least 12 months. However, the divorce case can be started immediately once one spouse moves to the state with the intent of living there indefinitely. The law only requires that the spouse be in the state for the full 12-month period by the time the court issues the final judgment.
Grounds for divorce may be no-fault, which means irreconcilable differences, or the traditional fault grounds of adultery, fraud, intolerable cruelty, imprisonment, confinement due to mental illness, and living separately for 18 months.
Spousal support in Connecticut is alimony. The court may grant alimony to either spouse.
If the court refuses to award alimony at the final hearing, and if alimony is not included in the final judgment, neither spouse can return to court in the future and request alimony due to a change in circumstance. Many final divorce judgments in Connecticut award $1 a year in alimony because this preserves the right to revisit the alimony issue if circumstances change.
The amount and duration of any alimony award is up to the court. Generally, the court considers the length of the marriage, the age, health, income, education, and needs of each party.
Connecticut is one of the few states that allow the court to consider marital fault when deciding alimony.
Connecticut requires a pure "equitable distribution" of the property. This means that all property of the parties is subject to distribution. This includes property that was acquired before the marriage. When dividing property, the court considers the length of the marriage, the cause for the divorce and whether either party is at fault, the age, health, occupation, and employability of each party, the needs of each of the parties, and the contribution of each of the parties in the acquisition, preservation or appreciation value of the property.
The court also considers the value of the homemaker's services when dividing property. In brief marriages, the court will try to divide the property so that the parties are in the same financial condition as they were before the marriage. In longer marriages, the court will try to divide the property 50-50. Ultimately, the division of property may vary widely from case to case depending on the court's analysis of the factors listed above.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Start Your Divorce
Settle Your Divorce