Connecticut Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Connecticut Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Connecticut Products Divorce by County
Agreements Custody & Visitation Child Support Collaborative Law Counseling Divorce/General Domestic Partnership Financial Planning Mediation
Contemplating Divorce Children & Divorce Divorce, Dollars & Debt Divorce Laws Divorce Process Divorce Negotiation
Articles Checklists Research Center Cases of Interest Dictionary Encyclopedia Encyclopedia (pop-up) Blogs
Advertise With Us Free Network Page Join Our Network Submit Articles Sign In
Connecticut Divorce Forms
This is a list of the most commonly filed divorce forms for the state of Connecticut. Following the list is a brief summary of each form and its purpose. This list of forms is not exhaustive and not all forms listed are required for every divorce. Due to unique case situations and special divorce filing procedures in Connecticut, certain forms may or may not be required by the Connecticut courts.
The Summons informs the Defendant that he or she is being sued for divorce. If the Defendant wishes to contest the divorce, he or she must file an appearance within the return date. The Summons and the Complaint must be served at least 12 days before the return date. The Complaint must be filed in the Superior Court at least six days before the Return Date. The Return Date marks the beginning of a 90-day "cooling off" period. Even if the spouses agree, the divorce cannot be entered for 90 days.
The Complaint identifies the parties, their children, gives the grounds for the divorce, and stipulates what relief is sought. Served with the Summons, the Complaint comes with an attached to a Notice of Automatic Orders, which prohibit dissipation of assets and stipulate that the parties exchange "complete [and] sworn financial statements within 30 days of the return date." The Clerk of the Court assigns the Complaint a docket number, which is used on all other forms.
Motion for First Order of Notice, JD-CL-44, and Order of Notice, JD-CL-38
The Motion and Order forms are used when the Defendant lives out of state or if he or she is served by registered mail, certified mail or publication. The motion and order require the court's permission and are used when the Defendant cannot be personally served. In that case, he or she is served by certified mail or by publication.
When the Defendant completes this form, the Defendant insures that he or she will receive all filings pertinent to the case. If the Defendant does not file an Appearance, the divorce may move through the courts as a default, with the Plaintiff getting everything he or she asks in the Complaint.
Cross Complaint, JD-FM-160
The Defendant may file a Cross Complaint on the same form as the Complaint. A Defendant may elect to file a Cross Complaint for a number of reasons, including his or her opposition to the divorce, incorrect information in the complaint, disagreement about the reasons for the marital breakdown, and a desire for a different outcome than the relief sought by the Plaintiff. Sometimes a Cross Complaint is a preliminary to a contested action.
Application for Waiver of Fees, JD-FM-75
A Plaintiff who cannot pay some or all of the costs associated with a divorce -- the filing fees, the Sheriff's cost of service and other required fees -- may file an Application for Waiver of Fees. He or she need not necessarily be receiving public assistance to apply for the waiver.
Affidavit Concerning Children, JD-FM-163
The Affidavit Concerning Children, used in compliance with the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act (UCCJA), identifies the parents and/or anyone who has had legal custody in the last five years, anyone who is involved in custody actions, and anyone who seeks custody or visitation. This form must be signed before a Clerk of the Superior Court, a commissioner of the Superior Court or a Notary Public.
Motion for Temporary Orders
When couples cannot reach agreement during divorce negotiations, sometimes one or both files a Motion for Temporary Orders. These Motions and Temporary Orders, may deal with relief from automatic orders, custody and child support pendente lite, exclusive possession of family residence pendente lite, possession of personal property pendente lite, alimony pendente lite, counsel fees and expert witness pendente lite.
Case Management Agreement, JD-FM-161
Case Management Agreement is used to track and schedule the divorce judgment hearing. The form indicates the status of the case in one of four categories: 1) when the Defendant has not filed an appearance; 2) uncontested, when there is agreement on all issues; 3) limited contested, when financial and property issues are in dispute; and 4) contested, when custody or visitation is at issue. A Plaintiff schedules an uncontested divorce hearing by completing the Case Management Agreement form. If it is not filed by the case management date, both spouses must appear.
The Judgment ends the marriage. It is a court order. The Judgment normally comes in one of two forms. They are as follows: Dissolution of Marriage Judgment-Uncontested, JD-FM-120, which is used when the Defendant has filed an Appearance, or Dissolution of Marriage Judgment-Default, JD-FM-121, which is used when the Defendant has not filed an Appearance.
Financial Affidavit, JD-FM-6
Both spouses must complete Financial Affidavits, which profile their weekly income and weekly expenses, liabilities and assets. The court reviews the Financial Affidavits in conjunction with the Separation Agreement to determine the financial soundness of the agreement.
Child Support Worksheet A
Child Support Worksheet A is used when the combined net income of the mother and father are $1,750 a week or less.
Withholding Order for Support, JD-FM-1
This form is used when alimony or child support is automatically deducted from the paycheck of the Obligor and conveyed to the court, which mails the payment to the recipient.
Advisement of Rights
This form is signed by the Obligor of any spousal or child support. It gives him or her the right "to present any evidence...as to why an order for withholding effective immediately should not be ordered." The Advisement of Rights is used if there is an order of child or spousal support whether or not there is third-party withholding.
Health Department Form, VS-63
Completed by Plaintiff, this form records the divorce for the vital records of the state.
This form must be used if the Defendant does not file an answer and does not appear at the divorce hearing. The form, which must be signed before a Notary Public, Commissioner or Clerk of the Superior Court, certifies that the Defendant is not a member of the military, and does not enjoy an protections from civil litigation afforded by the Servicemembers' Civil Relief Act.
Parenting Education Program -- Order, Certificate and Results, JD-FM-149
Parenting Education Program - Order, Certificate and Results is used when the divorcing spouses have children. The parents must attend this program within 60 days of the Return Date of the action.
The Agreement describes and defines the terms and conditions of the dissolution. At a minimum it 1) divides and distributes all assets and liabilities, 2) establishes a parenting plan, including custody and visitation, 3) establishes the amount and duration of alimony, if any, 4) arranges the payment of the divorce and 5) stipulates how and under what conditions the agreement may change or terminate.
Qualified Domestic Relations Order
When the benefits of a pension plan are divided as part of the marital settlement, the recipient must prepare a Qualified Domestic Relations Order, which directs a plan administrator to pay a portion of a pension or profit sharing plan to the alternate payee.
Navigate: Home States Connecticut Divorce Source Connecticut Divorce Forms
If the court refuses to award alimony at the final hearing, and if alimony is not included in the final judgment, neither spouse can return to court in the future and request alimony due to a change in circumstance. Many final divorce judgments in Connecticut award $1 a year in alimony because this preserves the right to revisit the alimony issue if circumstances change.
Established in 1996
Copyright© 1996-. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce.