Florida Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Florida Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Florida Products Divorce by County
How Quickly Can I Get A Florida Divorce?
Many people are in a hurry to get a divorce in Florida. The reasons vary. Some people are anxious to marry someone else. Some want to stop sharing their large incomes with their lower income spouses. Some just want out of the relationship. For whatever the reason, many are hopeful of getting the speediest divorce possible.
In Florida, as in all states, divorces can last for many months and sometimes even years. There are times, however, when each person in the marriage wishes to get on with things and an agreement on all issues is not a long, drawn out process. When that occurs, it is possible to obtain a quick Florida divorce.
Once you and your spouse have decided that you want to get things over with and move on with your lives, you can contact your expert Tampa divorce attorney and find out just how quickly the process can be completed.
Florida law allows that, once you have reached an agreement on all issues, you can get a dissolution of marriage in as few as 20 days from the filing of the petition for dissolution of marriage. You can even get it done more quickly if you can show the court that an injustice would occur by waiting the required 20 days.
Bottom Line: If you are anxious to finalize your Florida divorce, you can accomplish this in as few as 20 days from the filing the petition for dissolution of marriage once you and your spouse have resolved all of your differences regarding parenting issues, distribution of property, spousal support and reimbursement of attorney's fees.
(copyright Stann Givens 2009)
All Florida divorcing spouses who have children must complete a Parent Education and Family Stabilization class before a divorce will be granted by the court. This parenting class is mandatory because it helps to minimize the emotional trauma of the divorce on the children. Each parent must independently complete the course before the divorce enters the court. They must provide the court with a certificate of completion to prove the obligation has been met.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Established in 1996
© 1996 - 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Divorce Source. All Rights Reserved.