Louisiana Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Louisiana Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Louisiana Products Divorce by Parish
Louisiana Divorce Forms
This is a list of the most commonly filed divorce forms for the state of Louisiana. Following the list is a brief summary of each form and its purpose. This list of forms is not exhaustive and not all forms listed are required for every divorce. Due to unique case situations and special divorce filing procedures in Louisiana, certain forms may or may not be required by the Louisiana courts.
Under a 102 action, after the Respondent served, the filing spouse files a Motion asking that the divorce be made final six months after the action is filed, and A hearing is held, at which it is proven that the spouses lived "separate and apart" for 180 days since the service of the Petition.
Under a 103, the couple file for a divorce when they have already lived separate and apart for 180 days.
Louisiana laws allow divorces on both "fault" and "no-fault" grounds. In a fault divorce, the court identifies one spouse as responsible for the demise of the marriage, but the court makes no such determination in a no-fault divorce. The distinction of the type of divorce is important because, in the state of Louisiana, only a spouse not at fault can receive alimony.
Established in 1996
Copyright© 1996-. All rights reserved by MH Sub I, LLC dba 3StepDivorce.