Mississippi Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Mississippi Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Mississippi Products Divorce by County
Child Support in Mississippi
When a divorce is awarded, the Court may make an order touching the care, custody and maintenance of the minor children (under age 21) of the marriage. Where both parents have separate incomes or estates, the court may require that each parent contribute to the support and maintenance of the minor children in proportion to their relative financial ability. If one of the parents has health insurance available through an employer or other organization, the court may require that parent to provide health insurance for the child.
Amount of Child Support
The following child support guidelines are presumed to be appropriate. These guidelines apply unless the court makes a specific finding that application of the guidelines would be unjust or inappropriate in a particular case.
Exceptions to the Guidelines
The presumption of appropriateness of the guidelines may be overcome if the application of the guidelines would be unjust or inappropriate in a particular case as determined according to the following criteria:
In cases in which the adjusted gross income is more than $50,000.00 or less than $5,000.00, the court shall make a written finding as to whether or not the application of the guidelines is reasonable. Also, if the absent parent is also the parent of another child or other children residing with him, then the court may subtract an amount that it deems appropriate to account for the needs of the other child or children.
Termination of Child Support
The duty to pay child support terminates upon the emancipation of the child. The court may determine that emancipation has occurred and no other support obligation exists when the child:
In order to file for divorce in Mississippi, a party must give grounds for divorce and prove them with evidence or testimony. Mississippi recognizes the following grounds for divorce: irreconcilable differences (which is no-fault) and other grounds that include impotence, adultery, incarceration, felony conviction, drug or alcohol abuse, insanity for at least a three-year period, the wifes pregnancy by someone else without the husband being aware, willful desertion for at least one year, cruel and inhuman treatment, incest, and one spouse lacking the mental capability to consent to terminate a marriage.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Established in 1996
© 1996 - 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Divorce Source. All Rights Reserved.