Mississippi Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Mississippi Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Mississippi Products Divorce by County
Mississippi Child Support
Child Support in Mississippi
In Mississippi, child support guidelines stipulate that for one child, 14 percent of income goes to child support, 20 percent for two children, 22 percent for three children, 24 percent for four children and 26 percent for five children. These percentages reflect the income of the noncustodial parent and the children's needs. The child support office can petition the court to determine paternity when the parents are unmarried and the father does not cooperate.
Mississippi uses the percentage of income formula, which determines child support as a percentage of the income of the payor parent. This percentage is determined by factoring the number of children requiring support. This is the most basic method for calculating support. Many people believe that it does not take into consideration many important details, which makes this model of support calculation the least exact.
Courts order child support that is just and reasonable. When both the mother and the father have incomes or estates, the court orders each parent to provide child support according to his or her ability. Support includes health insurance if such coverage is available at a reasonable cost. There are specific child support guidelines contained in the Mississippi Code Annotated; Section 93, Chapters 5-23 and 11-65 and Section 99, Chapter 19-101.
Mississippi child support is typically calculated by using a Child Support Worksheet. The worksheet will generate an appropriate Mississippi child support obligation according to each spouse's income and other relative numeric factors such as taxes paid and retirement contributions. Once this amount is determined it is essential to look at any appropriate Mississippi child support deviation factors that may be applicable to the situation. You can get more information about Mississippi child support in the Mississippi state statutes.
Other Expenses and Deductions
Extraordinary expenses are either add-ons, where the expense is added to the support payment, or deductions, where the amount is deducted, and indicated as either mandatory or permissive.
The court may also award back child support and reimbursement of public assistance granted to the child.
Mississippi does not provide add-ons for extraordinary medical expenses, childcare expenses or secondary education support. Extraordinary medical expenses and childcare are considered deviation factors.
In Mississippi, the noncustodial parent must petition the court to end support payments when the child turns 21, marries, joins the military, gets a full-time job or goes to jail for a felony for two or more years.
Child Support Enforcement
Custodial parents collect child support in any of three ways:
A parent who fails to pay child support may be charged with contempt of court, and he or she can be jailed. Delinquent parents can be reported to credit bureaus, have his or her driver's license suspended and passport revoked. An unemployed delinquent parent can be ordered to seek employment.
More information about Mississippi Child Support Enforcement can be found at their website.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Established in 1996
© 1996 - 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Divorce Source. All Rights Reserved.