Nevada Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Nevada Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Nevada Products Divorce by County
Nevada Service of Process for Divorce
Process servers in Nevada must be licensed, at least 21, and/or have over two-years experience. All Nevada process servers must have liability to third persons with limits of no less then $200,000. Applicants pay $750 deposit upon submission of their application. Process server applicants must also pass a written application and may be required to pass an oral exam as well. The Nevada Private Investigators Licensing Board Process issues server licenses. Although no bonding is required by the state, Nevada is currently one of the most expensive states in the nation to get a process server license.
In Nevada divorce cases, personal service means delivery to the defendant personally, or by leaving copies thereof at his or her dwelling house or usual place of abode with some person of suitable age and discretion residing therein, or by delivering a copy of the summons and complaint to an agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive service of process.
Service by Publication is permitted when the defendant resides out of the state, or conceals himself to avoid the service of summons or cannot be found in Nevada after due diligence. When the court is satisfied, it issues an order permitting service by publication. The order directs the publication in a newspaper, published in Nevada, for a period of four weeks, and at least once a week during said time. In addition, where the present residence of the defendant is unknown, the order may also direct that publication be made in a newspaper published outside the state of Nevada whenever the court believes such publication is necessary to give the defendant actual notice of the proceedings. When the address is known, the divorce papers are also mailed to his or her residence. After publication, the defendant has 20 days to appear and answer or otherwise plead. The service is complete after four weeks from the first publication, and in cases when the divorce papers are also mailed, at the expiration of four weeks from such deposit.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Established in 1996
© 1996 - 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Divorce Source. All Rights Reserved.