New Jersey Info
New Jersey Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals New Jersey Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum New Jersey Products Divorce by County
New Jersey Articles
Agreements Attorney Relationship Custody & Visitation Child Support Collaborative Law Counseling Divorce/General Domestic Abuse Domestic Partnership Financial Planning Foreign Divorce Mediation Parenting Property Division Spousal Support
Paying Support for Children Once They Turn 18
I am a divorced father of an eighteen-year old son who now lives in New Jersey…
I used to live in New Jersey. However, I moved to Texas once I split from my ex-wife. I now pay a $150 New Jersey child support order. In Texas child support ends when the child reaches the age of 18 or when they graduate from high school, whichever occurs later. Does New Jersey also have the same child support laws?
Many web surfers are shocked when they learn that their legal obligation to support their children continues well past their 18th birthday. In the majority of the cases, parents are legally required to pay child support and also a large share of their children's college costs, after their children turn eighteen.
New Jersey has the most liberal child support and college contribution laws in the nation. At least New Jersey is first in something! The majority of the states have s bright line rule, and children are considered emancipated once they turn eighteen years of age. Thus, parents have no legal obligation to pay child support after a child turns 18 years of age, or graduates from high school. Moreover, most states also do not legally require a parent to contribute to pay for their children's college education.
Any New Jersey parent who is entangled family court system, whether because they are divorced, separated or have never been married but have children together, will be shocked when they are advised that their support obligations for their children will extend beyond high school. However, their children must be attending college, vocational, technical or any other post high school education on a full-time basis.
How does a family court determine child support and college contribution once a child is attending college?
The court will analyze two major factors to determine child support for any children who are attending college. The first major factor is each parent's contribution to the child's cost of college. The second major factor is the amount child support that is due and owing to the custodial parent.
When a court determines a parent's legal responsibility to contribute to college, the court must analyze the following twelve factors (Also known as the Newburgh factors):
After the court carefully examines and weighs these factors then it will determine each parent's responsibility to contribute to the costs the child's college education. After determining the parent's respective college contribution obligations, the court will then determine if any child support still has to be paid. The amount of child support is based on many different factors and they include whether or not the child lives at school or at home during the school year, the income and assets available to the child, and as the special needs of the child. Please keep in mind that the child support guidelines do not apply once a child is attending college.
A parent's responsibility to support their child will continue as long as the child is attending college on a full time basis. If a child misses a semester due to illness or other personal issues, then the court will not automatically emancipate the child. Instead, the court will carefully analyze all of the facts and circumstances of the case. If the child needs to continue their education beyond the age of twenty-three, then the court will examine the facts and circumstances and determine each case on its individual merits. The main theme of New Jersey child support and college contribution laws is that they want to ensure that the child has every opportunity to finish their college education.
If my ex-husband and I are able to reach an agreement as to how to pay for our son's college, do we still have to get court approval?
It is always advisable for the parties to agree on the payment of college. If you can avoid going to court, then you will save money on legal fees, and you will not have to litigate with your ex-spouse. If you can agree on the payment of college contribution, then the court will not require court approval, to impose their own judgment on the parties.
If the divorce is being filed under one of the seven fault grounds (including extreme cruelty, adultery, abandonment, substance or alcohol addiction, institutionalization, deviant sexual conduct and incarceration), the 18 month separation period, required for a no-fault divorce, is waived. However, each ground for divorce has its own stipulations.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
|Women's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00
"The Absolute Best Investment in Your Divorce"
|Men's Rights Manual For Divorce
Cover Price: $
Your Price: $29.95
You Save: $26.00
"Uncover Your Options and Unleash Solutions"
© 1996 - 2020 Divorce Source, Inc. All Rights Reserved.