Oklahoma Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Oklahoma Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Oklahoma Products Divorce by County
Oklahoma Service of Process for Divorce
In Oklahoma, process servers are licensed and, once licensed, they post a $5,000 bond. All applicants pay a $35 fee, which authorizes them to serve process in the county in which the license is issued. Applicants can also pay $150 for a statewide license. According to Oklahoma Statutes Annotated 12-158.1, the license states that process servers are officers of the court only for the service of process. No testing or education is required.
The summons and petition are served together. If a summons and petition are served by personal delivery, the server records the date that service is made on the copy that is left with the person served. The plaintiff furnishes the server with copies of the divorce papers.
At the election of the plaintiff, process, other than a subpoena, shall be served by a sheriff or deputy sheriff, a person licensed to make service of process in civil cases, or a person specially appointed for that purpose. The court can make special appointments to serve process.
Personal service is made on someone (other than an infant who is less than fifteen (15) years of age or an incompetent person) by delivering the divorce papers personally, or by leaving the papers at the person's dwelling house or usual place of abode with some person then residing who is over 15, or by delivering them to an agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive service of process.
Easily Connect With a Lawyer or Mediator
Have Divorce Professionals from Your Area Contact You!
Established in 1996
© 1996 - 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Divorce Source. All Rights Reserved.