Utah Divorce Start Your Divorce Find Professionals Utah Articles Divorce Facts Divorce Grounds Residency Divorce Laws Mediation/Counseling Divorce Process Legal Separation Annulments Property Division Alimony Child Custody Child Support Divorce Forms Process Service Grandparent Rights Forum Utah Products Divorce by County
Utah Divorce Process
Preparing the Divorce Papers
The petitioner starts the action by completing the Cover Sheet for Civil Actions, Department of Health Form, Verified Complaint for Divorce, Summons, and if there are minor children, Parenting Plan.
Filing the Paperwork with the Court
The petitioner files the originals in the county court in which one or the other spouse resides. Utah law allows the filing spouse to file by mail but recommends using registered mail to guarantee receipt of delivery. The petitioner can also hand-deliver the divorce papers to the county clerk.
Serving the Documents
In Utah, as in every other state, the petitioner serves the respondent with copies of all the divorce documents. This is the service of process, and it enables the other side to respond or file a counterclaim. Under Utah law, the petitioner has 120 days from the date of filing to serve copies on the opposing side. Utah permits various forms of service, including hiring a private process server, delivering the papers in person, and sheriff's service.
Disclosing Financial Information
Utah requires the parties to exchange financial information, including a list of all assets and debts. Both spouses must file a Financial Declaration after the Respondent submits his or her response to the original divorce petition.
Finalizing the Divorce
The divorce can become final 90 days from the date of filing.
When filing for divorce, the filing spouse must have been a resident of Utah in the county where the action is filed for at least three months before the commencement of the action.
Established in 1996
© 1996 - 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Divorce Source. All Rights Reserved.