Hello, out there.
I'm new, hurting and scared about pending divorce. Long story short:
A 2nd DUII in 3 year period caused wife to force me out and petition for divorce. Long time drinker, (rarely drunk), quit cold turkey 1 year ago on the 19th. Verifiable AA attendie, Divorce Support Group attendie, Therapy attendie (dealing with emotional/behavioral improvements). No history of violence, anger, neglect, abuse. Just in an unhappy relationship of 17 years, 15 married.
We have two girls, ages 6 and 8, and I was more time-involved than wife because of her retail schedule. I was a self-employed contractor with flexible schedule, so I did most extra-carricular activities, social events, getting them home from daycare, etc, for most of their lives. I was the main cook in the house, we shared housekeeping equally, though I also built the house and maintained everything.
She's got her lawyer convinced I'm an alcoholic and should have no custody, only minimal visitation. I've been out of work for nearly a year, living in a relative's spare room. I want to get joint physical custody, to be a family again with my daughters. I will need spousal support to rent a home suitable to have them. I will need child support in order to be able to feed and cloth them. My soon-to-be Ex makes $9k/month, my contribution is assumed to be minimum wage, $1456, (I'm currently working 15 hours per week as a minimum wage janitor).
My research tells me I'm likely to be successful suing for spousal support, but being a father is most important to me. Hoping to convince her or the court to have a "two household" family, wherein they live with me half of every week while she works her 10hr days, then live with her on her days off. We'd each end up with alternating 3-day weekends, which sounds pretty good to me.