Start Your Divorce Today - Premium Divorce Online

Topic Options
#775517 - 06/17/19 07:03 PM California Divorce, Inherited Property out of CA
apocalypsesrt Offline
recently joined

Hi, this is my first post because I have decided to get rid of my lawyer. I have been divorcing since October 2015 and its still not complete. The last thing remaining is my house located in New Mexico.

I inherited the house in 2006 from my father and kept it as separate property using it as a rental to cover the mortgage on it until I accidentally refinanced the property in 2012 when I moved to California. I was in a hard place financially and took advantage of a lower payment and in the process quicken loans said they needed my wife to sign a couple of things or else they wouldn't finance me.

Low and behold, I am getting a divorce in 2015 to now and she is making a claim for the property because her name was added to the deed. I need some help here on this one and I don't want to pay for a lawyer anymore because I am feeling extorted here $11,000.00 and an incomplete divorce later.

My questions:

Can I legally be obligated for accidentally adding her to the deed in 2012 because of my refinance?
(My lawyer said no, She would have to prove that I asked her to assume the liability of the house and have some sort of document that I notorized making it hers; "You cant accidentally give real estate away" in the words of my lawyer) Any cases that anyone can reference me to on this?

If she is entitled to anything would it only be for the perioud of 2012(refinance) to current?

Would all of the equity from 2006-2012 be protected in my defense of the inherited property?

Would I be able to claim all of my losses from 2012-current for the losses incurred by managing this property as a rental? I write everything off on my schedule E including my management company for this rental.